NCAWA provides scholarships to deserving female students attending the state’s law schools.  This award has been named in honor of retired Chief Justice Sarah Parker of the Supreme Court of North Carolina. 

In past years, NCAWA offered the Sarah Parker Scholarship Awards to a deserving female student at each law school in North Carolina.  In academic year 2018-2019, NCAWA began offering two (2) Sarah Parker Scholarship Awards, each in the amount of $2,000, to two female students from North Carolina’s law schools.  Scholarship recipients are leaders and/or active in their law schools and communities.  Scholarship recipients are students who best exemplify, in their approach to the study and future practice of law, the incorporation of NCAWA’s goals of assuring the effective participation of women in the justice system and in public office, promoting the rights of women under the law and promoting and improving the administration of justice.

Prospective scholarship recipients must be law school students who are continuing their education through the fall semester of the current calendar year and cannot be graduating third year law students. 

The 2021 NCAWA Sarah Parker Scholarship Award Application

Submission Deadline: 




Sarah Parker Scholarship Award Winners


2020 Mireya Colin 

Mireya Colin is completing her third year at Campbell School of Law. She will graduate with her
Juris Doctor in May 2021 where she will then become not only the first-generation college student but also the first-generation law student in her family. Mireya is a native of North Carolina and an alumna from North Carolina Central University where she graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice. Mireya is on a mission to make the world a safer place for women.

Mireya comes from a long line of immigrants which fueled her desire and passion to work in public interest law and provide legal assistance to the underrepresented communities. Her first summer after her 1L year she interned at Legal Aid of North Carolina with the Battered Immigrant Project where she realized how important it was for women in low-income communities to know about and have access to refuge from domestic violence. In addition, Mireya wants to use her story of resilience as an example to minorities, showing that they can achieve their dreams, too. 


Mireya is active at Campbell Law. She is a Student Ambassador, member of the Hispanic Law Student Association, and a member of the Black Law Student Association. She also works on a number of pro bono projects including the Death Row Visitation Project, the Innocence Project, and the Immigrants and Refugee Rights Project. Mireya looks forward to the day when she can practice immigration law in the triangle area.  



2020 Henna J. Shah

As a third year law student at Wake Forest University School of Law, Henna J. Shah has committed herself to serve her community and this nation through public service. While at the University of Texas at Austin, Henna was involved in numerous charitable organizations, including the Texas Royals, in which she served as Vice-President of Philanthropy. During law school, her desire to positively effect change on a national and global level through impact litigation has led her to work for the federal government as a policy intern with the U.S. State Department and as a legal intern with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights in Geneva, Switzerland. Currently, she is interning for the U.S. Agency for International Development’s (USAID) Egypt Legal Office. 

Henna has been recognized as a leader and scholar. Currently, Henna serves as the President for the International Law Society, Community Outreach Director for Wake Forest Law’s Public Interest Law Organization, Staff Editor of Journal of Law and Policy, and a member of the Wake Forest Law Moot Court Team. Recently, she published her Comment in the Journal of Law and Policy on the impact of tortious actions on behalf of the U.S. Government on private astronauts and private commercialization of outer space. 

Henna continues to value the importance of community service. This year, she is the Executive Director of Wake Forest’s Pro Bono Project, overseeing the school’s thirteen pro bono legal services. In response to the recent civil unrest stemming from systemic racism, she has created and launched the Protesters’ Rights Project, the first of its kind, aimed at educating citizens on their rights as protesters under federal and state law and providing assistance through the Wake Forest Pro Bono office.